top of page
  • Writer's pictureJucelle

Battle of the Klairs Cleansing Oils

In the hopes of restoring my skin barrier, I have stopped relying on chemical exfoliants for the past 8 months or since the start of the very first lockdown, I also think it would stop my sun sensitivities since I was using AHA at the time. Between now and then, I only used LHA as a spot treatment but one of the things that helped my skin out was oil cleansing every night.

Short IL: only has 4 Seed Oils from Sunflower, Grape Seed, Jojoba, Black Currant, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (an emollient) and emulsifier: PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate.

I use this every night, massaging it on dry skin for around 5 minutes. I use a pump and a half, it's a thin and runny oil that spreads easily, it turns milky immediately when it comes into contact with water and doesn't leave a film of greasy oil - my skin feels moisturized in a way but as recommended, always follow up with a cleanser. The only con I could think of is, it's too light - there are nights were it doesn't extract any of my SFs but I can still feel the texture, if I do have the energy, this is when I spend almost 10 minutes (yes, 10!) massaging it which does help lift off some of the texture - but not all, still, I find it does help even in reducing my breakouts. In terms of removing makeup, it does a decent job: I use a tinted moisturizer, liquid eyeshadow and a lip tint.

Compared to the Klairs Gentle Black Deep Cleansing Oil* that's slightly heavier, I feel it does work lifting off SFs much better, but it does take awhile to rinse off, it does emulsify with water but it takes some time before it gets milky, which makes me prefer the former better since when it comes to anything that needs washing off (oil cleansers, cleansers and masks) I prefer ones that can rinse off easily since my skin can become sensitized with products that are harder to rinse off. This does have a pleasant, subtle scent to it from the added fragrance.

*provided by Wishtrend for review

3 views0 comments
bottom of page